1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

How to keep our uncle happy (and me)

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by carlriv2, Jan 1, 2002.

1. carlriv2

carlriv2 Senior Member
    from Mass

My question is for those who have experience with owning the property you work from. I bought a house with a large garage out back and I have been talking to my CPA reguarding how to approach the deduction. He suggests that I simply take the sq ft home office type deduction for the space. I have several problems with that (not that I am a CPA)

1. I think the garage is worth more that that.
    2. If I were to rent a shop it would cost $1,000 and up
    3. When the tax man comes I still pay S/E tax on that money

I am under the impression that rental income is not subject to S/E tax being that it is "unearned income". If that is true I feel that I would be much better off structuring this so the business rents the space from me personally therefore the business would take the deduction of the rent paid to me (no S/E tax) I would get the $$$ to go towards the mortgage and all will be happy. Even our uncle. I think...

I guess the main question is ... Does anyone do this, what type of business structure (proprietorship, partnership, LLC, S corp, or Corp) do you have and how does it work.

Thank you for your input on this matter, and hopefully if you read this long post you have some useful input.

Carl

2. Plow Meister

Plow Meister PlowSite.com Addict

1. Check zoning laws. Make sure you can rent the space out to a compny that does what you do.

2. Start a sub-chapter S corp. You are the president.

3. Then, install a DBA (doing business as).