1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

How to I get started???

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by 99Ram1500, Dec 18, 2005.

1. 99Ram1500

99Ram1500 Junior Member

I just bought a black 1999 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 sport this summer and I kinda want it to start making me money, but I don't want to deliver pizzas. So I was thinking of getting into plowing next winter (late 2006).

For starters I have no experience removing snow with anything but a shovel, and a small snow blower. My truck is a short bed, with 81,000 miles on it right now. It has the 5.2L V8, automatic transmission, and open front and rear axels (Dana 44 front, Chrysler 9.25 rear I believe).

I want to start doing driveways and other small jobs in my area, and I want to know if I have the right rig to begin with, and what I need to add to start plowing next winter (late 2006). I have pretty much no idea where to start for equipment. And I also have no idea of what I could handle, both my experience, and my truck. I was also wondering what I should charge for services if I did plow. I also have a pretty tight schedule, I am in school at least 4 days a week for about 3-4 hours a day at least, and plan on working a part time job too, unless plowing would give me sufficient money, so I could be strapped for time. I just need to know how to get started.

Thanks.

2. nekos

nekos Senior Member

hmmm where to start ...
    your truck is fine for plowing. not the #1 choice but it will work . < i plow with a f150 and have had no major problems>