1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

    Dismiss Notice

How to hardwire 4 prong meyer lights

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Piston_Honda, Dec 6, 2010.

  1. Piston_Honda

    Piston_Honda Junior Member
    from Canada
    Messages: 13

    Hi, I have a 05 Canyon and want to hard wire the old style meyer 4 prong lights into my truck. Can I go directly into the park/signals with wire splices and as for the high and low beams do I do something different?
     
  2. basher

    basher PlowSite Fanatic
    from 19707
    Messages: 8,992

    Don't do it. Your truck's computer will not like it at all.
     
  3. Piston_Honda

    Piston_Honda Junior Member
    from Canada
    Messages: 13

    Will the computer like a electric hydraulic pump hookup?
     
  4. basher

    basher PlowSite Fanatic
    from 19707
    Messages: 8,992

    You are are not going to hard wire it into the truck harness are you?
     
  5. Piston_Honda

    Piston_Honda Junior Member
    from Canada
    Messages: 13

    It's a Old Meyer E46 one way plow. Wire from pump to solenoid, pump to switch,pump grounded,solenoid to battery positive, solenoid to switch ,switch to power source (fuse box) It worked on a 98 Zr2.
     
  6. basher

    basher PlowSite Fanatic
    from 19707
    Messages: 8,992

    That's fine, you just cannot splice into the truck's harness for your headlights.
     
  7. Piston_Honda

    Piston_Honda Junior Member
    from Canada
    Messages: 13

    Good to hear. Is there any way to get these lights hooked up?
     
  8. basher

    basher PlowSite Fanatic
    from 19707
    Messages: 8,992

    Wire a switch direct to the battery.
     
  9. Piston_Honda

    Piston_Honda Junior Member
    from Canada
    Messages: 13

    How about the turn signals? Can they be spliced?
     
  10. basher

    basher PlowSite Fanatic
    from 19707
    Messages: 8,992

    I would use a relay, both for the turn signals and the parking lights. Get your power and ground directly from the battery.
     
  11. Piston_Honda

    Piston_Honda Junior Member
    from Canada
    Messages: 13

    Thanks for your input. I will try that and see how I get along.
     
  12. Piston_Honda

    Piston_Honda Junior Member
    from Canada
    Messages: 13

    Will I have to use 2 -3 way switches for the headlamps and signals? I'll need a flasher as well, right? Will i have park lamps as well. I almost need a diagram.
     
  13. basher

    basher PlowSite Fanatic
    from 19707
    Messages: 8,992

    Then you are in over your head.
     
  14. geer hed

    geer hed Senior Member
    Messages: 275

    You can hook it all up by bypassing all your OEM equipment, BUT it is going to be a royal pain in the rump.
    Did you by chance call or talk to your local meyers dealer to see what they say. or contact meyers dirrect. I would try that before you go through the trouble of fabricating a harness.