1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

how to get some experience?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by MagnusArtist, Jan 15, 2009.

1. MagnusArtist

MagnusArtist Junior Member
    from NE Ohio

I am new to this forum. Basically, I was thinking to call around locally and see if an experienced plower would let me ride along and get a taste of the business.

where would I find someone that would want to do this? I am in NE Ohio near youngstown.
    I do like cold weather and snow, and I am a decent driver no points etc. Its mid season so
    maybe I could eventually become proficient and help a local contractor. I am pretty flexible schedule wise as I am an artist.

Does this sound like a good idea? I have absolutely no experience with driving snowplows,
    except for a little John deere plowing my parents driveway a long long time ago.

I noticed no one plowing in my few blocks, but after reading a bit here this seems a whole lot more complicated than just buying a truck with plow.
  2. infineon954

infineon954 Senior Member

Hang around this website long enough and you will learn something. The more resources you aquire in this business the better off you'll be. Best of luck!

REAPER 2000 Club Member
    from 60050

Try to call around and get on a shovel crew. Tell them then you are also interested in learning to plow. The better you work on the shovel crew the better your chances of the guy depending on you showing you the ropes on a plow.
  4. Philbilly2

Philbilly2 2000 Club Member

this is kinda funny, me and a couple of guys that I have been plowing with for years were talking about while sitting in a lot.