1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

How to figure out overhead and profit amount?

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by JMHConstruction, Mar 3, 2013.

1. JMHConstruction

JMHConstruction PlowSite.com Addict

Hey guys, I am still pretty new to the game. I've got 3 years under my belt now. I only do sidewalks and residential drives and walks. I'd like to get a plow in the future, but for now I'm making the same, if not better money doing this. I have a 2 - stage blower and shovels. Depending on the storm I have 2-6 extra guys helping out. It's a small business and a very small overhead.

The way I bid right now it just look at a place, and figure out how long it will take, amount of ice, and guys. I try and charge about $130 an hour and write it into a per push and inch increments amount and give my bid. I have found that I have no problems getting my commercial and sub accounts because (not to pat my own back) we are one of the few sidewalk crews that haul ass and run circles around some of these other guys. However, with my resis I seem to have trouble convincing them that we are better than the guys out there doing drives for $15-$20.