1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

How to "check out" a carrier (applies to Uship)

Discussion in 'Used Plowing and Truck Equipment Forum' started by Mick, Oct 7, 2009.

1. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

Since I quit being a freight broker, I have been contacted several times for advice on getting stuff shipped. Usually I advise people to check out the carrier they're going to use. There have also been several threads related to Uship for getting stuff transported. This can be a very good alternative if you are careful. The following is what brokers use to check out a transportation company before giving them a load. This is really public information that anyone can use:

using Google, Search "FMSCA"
    under "Federal Motor Carrier Administration", click on "Registration and Licensing".
    look/scroll down left-hand side and find "Find a Company Status"
    click on "By Operating Authority"
    click "Continue"
    on the right-hand corner, click on the Menu and select "Carrier Search"
    click on "Go"
    enter the USDOT or MC number, whichever you have ( ignore the rest )
    click "Search"
    click "Report"

They MUST have a USDOT # to be a legal carrier, brokers only have an MC # and are NOT carriers ( unless they also have a DOT number).

Check ALL information against what this person gave you. If it shows an application is PENDING, they are not an authorized carrier. Make sure BIPD and CARGO insurance is shown as "ON FILE - YES".