1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

How to charge "per-season" customers?

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by NYH1, Mar 18, 2014.

1. NYH1

NYH1 Senior Member

Hey guys, I'm new at plowing. This was my first season and I started out pretty late but still did ok. Each time it snowed and I plowed I seemed to pick up more work as the season went on. So I definitely have some plowing accounts lined up for next season. Plus some of my customers want me to give them prices on mowing their lawns as well.

Around my area for plowing, people either pay "per push" or "per-season".

Charging and billing per push is easy enough to figure out. Every time I plow I bill and get paid.

How do you guys figure out and calculate your bids on "per-season" accounts? We average around 22 events a year here in as typical winter season. So if I was going to charge someone say $20 per push, would I charge them 22 x $20= $440 for the season? Or would I give them a little discount because they're paying up front for a seasonal rate? I've heard of some guys giving 10 to 15% discount for seasonal customers that pay up front. Does this sound right? Any help will be greatly appreciated.

A new 2500/3500 (Ram or Chevy/GMC) with a new Fisher HD 8.5' or 9' plow to come before next season as well.

Thanks, NYH1.
  2. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

Almost right on your pricing. You need to add a few more plows for "just in case" . No discount either. People like seasonal prices because its less to worry about.If you want to help them out split the bill in half ,half at signing and half when ever you want.This is for plowing only ,they want any other service,extra cost to them.
  3. truckitup