1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

how to bid ny

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by mean green 24, Oct 13, 2010.

1. mean green 24

mean green 24 Junior Member

I'm new at this and wondering how to bid commercial? I was going to stick with residential but Ive been getting calls to do commercial lots.anything you guys could offer would help thanks
  2. leigh

leigh PlowSite.com Addict
    from CT

Take your cost of doing business, overhead, operating costs etc. All your basic business 101
    things you learned in school or through experience. Estimate how much labor is involved for whatever lot your bidding, multiply hours estimated x your costs and you come up with a price.Add % for profit and your good to go! Or you can hire an expert in the field to help you along the way. Free advice is not the best way to go.Like free legal advice! Even your accountant coul be very
    helpful. Amazing how many have no idea that there losing money till it's to late. Do it right and you can make some money and keep your sanity! P.S don't listen to a thing i said about remember free advice!;)
  3. mean green 24

mean green 24 Junior Member

ok thanks for your help
  4. RLM

RLM PlowSite.com Addict

Chances are you will be suprised where pricing is in this market. You need to learn where the pricing is, take your bumps & bruises. I'm saying this because I have had to do the same thing. Even after 15 years I'm still suprised to here or see what properties are done for, even from one side of the county to the other. You'd probably be better off subbing for someone else to get your feet wet.
  5. forestfireguy

forestfireguy PlowSite.com Addict