1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

How much weight for the bed when plowing?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Playboy, Sep 20, 2004.

1. Playboy

Playboy Senior Member

I'm new to plowing and was going to get some sand as weight (balast?) and I didn't know how much weight to get. I have a 94 F240 long bed with 8' Fisher plow.

2. Bolts Indus.

Bolts Indus. PlowSite.com Addict

I assume you mean sand bags placed rear of the rear axles. Myself I use 12"x 24" patio stones. Easy to handle don't absorb moisture. Anyway start with about 400 lbs rear of rear axles and raise plow and see if the truck sits level or better. If not add a little more and adjust from there. Sometimes you can't get it to sit level.
  3. Boast Enterpris

Boast Enterpris Senior Member

I like to plow with 20 to 25 50 lbs bags of salt in the bed. 1000 to 1500 pounds. May sound a little heavy for some or a little light for others, but it allows me to plow in 2X4 most of the time. You never know when a customer will want you to spread a bag or two in front of the doors.
  4. Playboy

Playboy Senior Member

Well I was thinking of getting sand bags but i'm not sure where to find them other then playground(sand box) sand from home depot. I was thinking of using some salt/calcium bags for cases like you said. I don't have a sander yet but can use my broadcast spreader for salt.
    So the truck needs to sit level in order to plow correctly? Is that for corret blade position?
  5. Playboy

Playboy Senior Member

Are there advantages in plowing 2x4?
  6. ZamboniHDB

ZamboniHDB Senior Member