1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

How much to raise prices...

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Joel B., Sep 30, 2007.

1. Joel B.

Joel B. Senior Member
    from MN

I've been plowing snow for about 5 years now. Some customers have been at the same rate for 5 years ($25/time for "average" driveways). I am raising prices this year but not sure how much. I had thought about going to $30/time but am wondering if that is too much of a jump. Then I thought about going to $28/time since it "sounds" better than $30.

Also, some customers that signed up recently would get a price increase after only one year....I'm a little worried they might "jump ship" after a price increase so early even though it's actually been 5 years.

Just not sure, any thoughts?

Joel B.
  2. cet

cet PlowSite Fanatic

If they just signed up last year then it hasn't been 5 years. That would also be a 20% increase. I would have thought with the fuel increase the past 2 years you would have raised them already. I would raise the 5 year customer for sure. $28 sounds like you are asking for a little more to keep up with inflation. Regardless you are always going to get the few that *****.
  3. SnoFarmer

SnoFarmer PlowSite Fanatic
    from N,E. MN

What part of MN are you in?

I have no problem getting $32 for a small drive here.
    Raising your price to $28 does not seam like enough $$.

You can't make everyone happy, stop trying to.

Sell your service.
    Charge what you are worth.
    You need to make money doing this, it's not charity or for the poor!
    It's a harsh reailety I know but thats how it is.
  4. oman1999

oman1999 Senior Member