1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

how much to get started and is it worth it?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by stevesmowing, Nov 8, 2004.

1. stevesmowing

stevesmowing Member

This year was my 2nd major year in the landscaping business and I have been thinking whether or not next winter I want to get into snow plowing or blowering. This is just a side business for me as I am a full time student. Right now I only have a f150 2wd truck. If I wanted to be able to plow I think I would need to find another truck to plow with or just get a snow blower. It would just be on residential drives about 15-20 feet by 80-100 feet. What are the going rates for a residential drive this big? How much would it cost to get either a commercial grade snow blower or a used truck and plow that will be half way decent. How many of you guys are glad you got into plowing and how many wish u wern't.
  2. qualitylawncare

qualitylawncare Senior Member

In Webster, expect to get about $6-10 per driveway, unless you can find some really good customers who are willing to pay more for quality service.

I have an $18.00 minimum and really limit the amount of customers I take even at that rate..

Just don't let people talk down your price..

Good luck! :waving:
  3. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

I guess, like anything else - "it depends". You'll find people who'll dispute this, but I've found that, just to start out, you'll need:

Decent 4wd truck (at least one - two would be better to have a backup): $10,000

New plow: $3500

Commercial Vehicle Insurance: $1500

General Liability Insurance: (varies greatly - for NY, probably about $1,000)