1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

How much to charge?

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by chavez1414, Oct 9, 2013.

1. chavez1414

chavez1414 Junior Member
    from Indiana

Hey guys, I've been reviewing this forum for several years and I really appreciate the wealth of information provided by the users. I am needing some help with updating a job bid because I am getting a lot of variances with prices.

I currently have this contract and have considered charging more this year. The job is for an approximate 450 residential HOA. Referring to the map, you can see it is quite large with the lots being between .20-.25 acres. The roads are highlighted. There are 2 roundabouts and 15 very time consuming cul-de-sacs. The roadways are about average width for a newer neighborhood, as it takes about 4 passes to get the snow to the curb. A major problem is the lack of space to push snow in the tight fitted, cookie cutter neighborhood, especially those circles. Last year, I actually pushed all of this alone on two occasions. It took me just under 5 hours and I logged 34 miles of forward driving.

In my area of Indiana, we only push this about 4 times a year and we average about 20-25 inches. The contract has a 2" trigger and the rate multiplies based on depth, though there is normally not enough accumulation.

With the little bit of snow we get, purchasing larger equipment is not really justified for this area. With that, I push with a 8.5 V-Plow. You realize now, why it takes 5 hours, but using anything larger doesn't cut it in those tight cul-de-sacs.