1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

How much to charge? HELP!

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by Wak313, Mar 19, 2005.

1. Wak313

Wak313 Junior Member

I am new to the business end of plowing and am not sure how to price this:

Paved Residential Driveway - 1/4 mile long
    I usually plow commerical lots and do not know what is fair price for this.

2. rainair

rainair Senior Member

driveway $$$

whats your time,talents, service worth in the time it takes

3. wstwind

wstwind Senior Member

Do you have garages to dig out? Is there enough room to turn around? How many places are there to put snow? Is this account close to others you are doing? What kind of equipment do you run? What's your trigger? These are all questions you need answered before you estimate. Just my opinion. :rolleyes:

4. T-MAN

T-MAN PlowSite.com Addict

Wstwind you missed the most important one. What is your hourly rate ? How can you bid something if you dont know what an hour of your time costs/+profit ??

Todd

5. lawnandplow42

lawnandplow42 Senior Member

maybe 50 bucks.
    Its hard to tell without seeing it.
    Is there any shoveling, or turn arounds? :dizzy:

6. Yaz

Yaz PlowSite.com Addict
    from NH

If it's local to your route and they will have you come each storm your out. I would charge at least 75.00 . Only if you don't have to get out of your truck. It's long Island, everything is more exspencive! that goes for you too!

7. djfenn

djfenn Junior Member

Dont give away the farm

For a quarter mile driveway, you have to get at least $100. The guy won't shovel it, thats for sure. Personally, I would get $150, being that I service the Hamptons.

8. MikeD520

MikeD520 Junior Member