1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

How much $ should one expect?

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by te snow, Jan 22, 2009.

1. te snow

te snow Member

This is my 4th year plowing now and I was looking for input on what I should expect to make per hour. I have my own truck, pay for my fuel, pay for service on my truck and plow. I currently make $60/hour, and salt for him using his salt spreader and salt at the same pay. I am a very dependable driver of his and do have a full time job. He depends on me as far as being the only one called out with him when there is cleanup to be done (.5" or so). I feel that I am fast and efficiant (no trails) and have been told so by other drivers I work with. No I'm not bragging just trying to give as much input as possible.:) I personally do commercial lots for him (Example: jiffy lube, a theater, coulpe of restaurants, and other lots).
    Thank You in advance for your input
  2. swtiih

swtiih PlowSite.com Addict

A good worker is worthy of his wages. Of course some people will only pay so much for a good worker or even a bad worker.
    There are other variables that you don't mention like how many hours he gives you,timeliness of being paid,how far you travel to plow these lots etc...
    I personally think 60 is to little for plowing, however if he is paying you 60/hr to salt using his salter that seems like good pay. At the end of the season sit down with him and review the season and how you did. If you made an agreement with him for this year then keep your word and talk about next year at the end of the season.
  3. te snow

te snow Member