1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

How much should I charge?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by JeepPlow18, Oct 27, 2006.

1. JeepPlow18

JeepPlow18 Senior Member

I am new to plowing this year and have a lot that I have no idea what to charge. It has about 45 parking spaces and is a big oval with an apartment building in the middle. I dont know if I should charge an hour or 1''-3'', 4''-6''.....I have also seen others guys do it in no more that an hour. How about salt applications? Any advice is appreciated. Thanks

Picture015.jpg

Picture016.jpg

2. JeepPlow18

JeepPlow18 Senior Member

Also I forgot that there is 7 walkways about 20-30 feet in length. How much extra for those plus salt?

3. LLM Ann Arbor

LLM Ann Arbor Senior Member

125 and 200,or a but higher and I dont do alot of salting but you'll need to come up with an average price and most people times 2 their cost for what it cost them. I actually think salting is worth a bit more than that.

You'll need to average out your salt costs considering sometimes its a light app, sometimes a medium app and sometimes a heavy app is required depending on conditions.

And please dont listen to the crowd that will tell you that you price off of what your expenses are and how much you spent on breakfast.

Shoot. Didnt see the second pic/area.....but 125 an hour would be a good rate for you per hour.

That site may be worth 175 for 1-3, and 275 for 4-6 for walks and parking all included.

off the top of my head.

Last edited: Oct 28, 2006
  4. LLM Ann Arbor

Keep in mind....thats what I think its worth. Chances are someone else thinks its only worth half that and will bid it at half that.