1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

How much salt is applied

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by gixxer27, Dec 25, 2009.

1. gixxer27

gixxer27 Junior Member

Im new to the salting side of this journey, Dont quite know how much to toss out. I was told 15lb per 1000sqft. dont know if it matters that im in wisconsin,since ice tends to be the same anywhere you are. in fact its been freezing sleet most of the day here, maybe i should be investing in a tow truck instead.
  2. Kubota 8540

Kubota 8540 PlowSite.com Addict

In my opinion there is no standard application rate, only a suggested average application rate. Totally depends on how much ice or snow you need to melt. Enough to melt the snow or ice without having any undissolved salt leftover.:nod:
    It's been heavy rain here In Illinois for 2 days, think it's time to put the squeegy on the Kubota! :laughing: On an average for me 12-20 lbs per 1000 sq ft.
  3. bristolturf

bristolturf Senior Member