1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

How much salt and sand per acre

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by cole22, Feb 27, 2010.

1. cole22

cole22 Senior Member

Hi I'm new to the sanding and salting world. I'm wondering how much sand and salt everyone uses on parking lots after a snow and after a freezing rain? How much meaning, how many does a cubic yards for like an application rate per acre. I appreciate everyone's help! Thanks for everyone's time!

Last edited: Feb 27, 2010
  2. fireboy6413

fireboy6413 Senior Member

Use the search feild up in the right corner, you will find much of use full info on salting, salt and sand is usually measured and sold by the ton, if im not mistaken a yard is just shy of one ton

3. fireboy6413

roughly 750 pounds per acre, or around 20 lbs per acre, however it all depends on the storms, some you may use a heck of alot more and some you may just spot treat the lot meaning not cover the whole area

Dont Double Post http://www.plowsite.com/showthread.php?t=100845

4. cole22

cole22 Senior Member

Yeah that was my bad i thought i was editing this post!

5. Brad3403

Brad3403 Senior Member
    from Alberta

Welcome. From experience, I have found that any time you ask a question, someone is going to tell you to use the "search" feature. I feel that opinions, equipment and products change so I would rather ask the question and get fresh responses. Plus, without people posting on the site, it would die.