1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

How much salt am I spreading???

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by Sno4U, Jan 5, 2008.

1. Sno4U

Sno4U Senior Member

I'm new to using a V-box spreader. I now have a Salt Dogg 1500.
    The problem is I have no idea how much salt I'm dropping on each lot.
    Is there some kind of truck mount scale available? I sell by the pound plus labor so I need to know.
    I doubt if I'm the only one needing to know pounds/applied.
    How do you all do it that have v-boxes?
    I do know how many pounds I have on the truck when I leave my supplier but its up to me thereafter.

2. JD Dave

JD Dave PlowSite Fanatic

You get to know what you put on, it's not an exact science but who cares. If you start out with a ton or 2, just make sure you bill out more then that. You tend to use alot more salt in a V then in a tailgate just because it's so much easier to apply. After every place you do look in the spreader and estimate.

3. dmontgomery

dmontgomery PlowSite.com Addict

That is my dilemma with moving to a v box from my tailgate spreader.........my small businesses use only between 150 lbs and 350lbs.......it is very easy to gauge by only loading what I need for each site....... and they are set rates per salting......

But I can make $35 more per hour from my sub job with a vbox.....

I also have no place to store or load bulk salt and there are no 24 hr suppliers here.....

:dizzy:

Last edited: Jan 5, 2008
  4. DJ Contracting

DJ Contracting PlowSite.com Addict