1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

how much for sidewalks

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by Lawnman883, Sep 27, 2007.

1. Lawnman883

Lawnman883 Member

how much do you guys charge for sidewalk cleaning, salting, shoveling. i am new to this and have 2 apartment complexes i do summer work at and they are interested in sidewalk cleaning in the winter. both complexes have a plow on the their compnay truck, but they don;t have anyone to do the sidewalks. the complexes have about 250 to 300 units each and each unit has a snall sidewalk approach which would need to be cleared as well. last year the one complex told me thye had a guy on an atv and a guy with a shovel and it took them about 3-4 hours to complete after 5-6 inches. i'm new to commercial snow removal and just would like some feedback. i have an f350 truck and a deere 42inch snowblower mounted on a tractor.

2. CNY Plow

CNY Plow Senior Member

NEVER let the customer tell you how long it will take,
    Will your blower fit the entire site and/or will you need hand sholveling?
    Are you going to have someone do this while you are out plowing.
    Why doesn't the owner have his own personel (like with the plows)?
    What's the owner's criteria - around-the-clock, 2 or 3 inch start, after snow fall?
    How much do you need to make per hour?

3. QuadPlower

QuadPlower PlowSite.com Addict

Garden Tractor or 4x4 utility tractor w/42" blower?

If you want a guess on time prior to the winter then walk it. Park your truck and check you watch. Walk up to every door, walk back out and on to the next one. 2,3,4, hours later you will have a good idea what it will take.