1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

How many quarts to refill E-47?

Discussion in 'Meyer / Diamond Products Discussion' started by sickofwinter, Dec 23, 2008.

1. sickofwinter

sickofwinter Junior Member

I got a pinched line the other day and lost all my fluid before noticing. Anyway I'm gonna flush the system just wondering if anyone can tell me how many quarts of M1 I should get to fill the unit and angle pistons. Also if anyone has any tips/tricks to bleeding/refilling I would appreciate it, this is my first time changing fluid and I don't wanna mess anything up.:dizzy:
  2. jwkv

jwkv Member

It's like 1qt 12 oz. Depends on the size of your cylinders. I've never rebuilt one yet but I would imagine it is best to get as much air out of the cylinders by filling them manually. One extended fully and the other compressed. Fill the hoses. install the couplers. fill the reservoir. Hookit it all up. Operate it to get rid of the air. Top it back up.. run it again to make sure there is no air. Check the level again and that should be it. Hopefully someone will us know if this is correct.
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2008
  3. Kenyou

Kenyou Senior Member

Assuming you have flushed out the pump, hoses, rams and cleaned the filters, and have put in the right fluid in the pump, (1 1/2 in. from the top), just reconnect the hoses.
    Now just work your plow a few times, letting the pump fill everything up, and then recheck your fluid level because it will be low from filling up the rams and hoses.

You might have some air in the system now so put your plow lower than your truck and work the plow back and forth and that will bleed them. Good luck.
  4. sickofwinter