1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

How many have been sued and how to avoid it ?

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by b16bri, Nov 28, 2013.

1. b16bri

b16bri Junior Member
    from ct

Hey guys Im a solo business owner landscaper in the spring, summer, fall and I want to offer plowing services this winter and I got thinking how many people / businesses have been sued due to slip and falls or damages or anything really. I'm an LLC and I know it offers some level of protection but if your the owner and involved in the accident I know you can be held liable. So IDE like to hear from people who have been sued and to hear your story and also what can you do to prevent yourself from being sued ? Obliviously attention to detail is key but accidents happen and some people hope for them
  2. BC Handyman

BC Handyman PlowSite.com Addict

avoid them.....hmmmm I'd say avoid customers/sites that are higher risk, ie: banks, walmarts crazy cat lady ect. get your responsibilities in writing, all of them. I've neven been sued so what do I know ;)
  3. kimber750

kimber750 PlowSite Veteran

The key to it is being prepared when you are sued. We had two slip and falls last season. The one on my site was a pregnant lady that fell getting into her car. We do not shovel snow between cars. But the owner of the company did pay for her to get a checkup. We have not been sued for anything at any of the snow sites.

Now I have a few rental properties and about once a year I get sued by a tenant. I take a lot more than that to court a year. :dizzy: Not once have I lost. I have spent a lot of time to learn and understand the laws, I also know and understand my leases inside and out.
  4. indplstim