1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

How many driveways can i handle???

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by celticgreens, Nov 26, 2004.

1. celticgreens

celticgreens Junior Member

this is my first year plowing, i have a '92 ford F-700, a little big for residential driveways but whatever, ill manage. my question is, since this is my first year and i dont have any commercial accounts, how many residential driveways can i handle per snow fall??? im hopefully handing out like 2000-3000 flyers and will assume ill be flagged down multiple times. if i set up accounts with clients for the season, how many do you think i should take on before it gets to be too many? i understand i have to take into account driveway size and how much snow, but just say average, like 20X 30 driveways and say 6 inches of snow. give me your best guess. thanks guys

2. Tarkus

Tarkus PlowSite.com Addict

It depends how far apart they are too. 20 to 30 is not unreasonable but not to be a party pooper you must consider the weight of that truck in people driveways and possible damage that you could do to them that will cost big bucks to fix. (stay off of cement driveways that can crack)

3. Bryan C. King

Bryan C. King Junior Member

Too big of a truck to do residential driveways.

4. DJC

DJC Senior Member

I agree with you. It's going to take so much time and expect damage to lawns and driveways. Sell the 700 and buy a used 1/2 truck.

5. gmack616

gmack616 Member

it definetly depends on the distance between driveways. if they are all in the same neighborhood, you could do 6-10 an hour w/o problems.

6. maurader

maurader Member