1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

How long to plow 100,000 sq ft

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by kyle12781, Sep 30, 2009.

1. kyle12781

kyle12781 Junior Member

Hi, I'm new to the plowing industry and am going to be bidding a wide open parking lot that is 100,000 sq ft. They want a per push quote, so I was wondering approximately how long that should take me. My equipment used for this lot would be a Sterling Acterra dump truck (26,000 gvw) with a 10 foot heavy weastern blade. Also equipped with a vbox spreader.

Any info is greatly appreciated.

2. Grn Mtn

Grn Mtn PlowSite.com Addict

wide open lot, 1-2 hours depending on the snow amount <3" >3"

3. snowguys

snowguys Senior Member

2 hours 2-4
    3 hours 4-6
    4 hours 6-8

give or take a few mins

1350lb of salt

4. badabing1512

badabing1512 Senior Member

Id say 1350 minimum, if it was me id bid it at 1 ton of salt per application

5. 2COR517

2COR517 PlowSite Fanatic

Five acres an hour? That's moving right along. I don't know about the Acterra in particular, but I can't imagine a 26K six wheeler being as nimble as a pickup.

Do you have to push all the snow to one side? What's the shape of the lot? 100x1000 will be easier to plow than 316x316.

As for salt, some say 20lbs/K, which would be one ton. Some say 800# an acre, which would be two ton.

For salt pricing - some say 2,000 lbs at .20/lb = $400, some say two ton at $250/ton = $500

6. cet

cet PlowSite Fanatic

I agree that truck won't be as nimble as a pick up but where did you get 5 acres/hour? that lot is 2.3 acres.

7. badabing1512

As for salt, some say 20lbs/K, which would be one ton. Some say 800# an acre, which would be two ton.