1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

How far will you drive to get to your next account

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by MOW ME OVER, Jan 11, 2005.

1. MOW ME OVER

MOW ME OVER Senior Member

Alright guys let me know how far you will drive to your next plowing account or how far from your shop or house will you travel to drop the blade.

The reason that I am asking is becuase this is my first year plowing and was offered a HOA account in a smaller neighborhood. It has one main road going in and then loops around and connects back up again with 5 cul de sacs off of it. I was told that it usually only takes about 2 hours to clear but the last guy was charging out 3 to 4 hours to help include a little travel time but he was local to this place. I am about 20 miles away from this neighborhood and in normal driving it takes about 40 to 50 minutes to get to depending on traffic, so I can only imagine how long it will take to get there with some snow on the ground.

If I do bid this job it will be at $95.00 to $100.00 with a 2 hour minimum per trip but I dont want to get cought stretching myself two damn thin. You can only be in so many places at once.

So how far will you drive to make some money???

2. daninline

daninline Senior Member

My route is 60 miles long takes me about 5 to 6 hours to do but for $700 for 20 accounts I think it's worth the drive.

Around here I'm lucky to have any that are right next to each other most are miles apart but the rate for the drive is not bad as long as the back roads are open.

So if you get good at it you could cut it down to less then 2 hours.
    But who is saying it can be done in 2 hours the account or you?