1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

How do you stack your snow?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by By-The-Lake, Mar 8, 2010.

?

How do you stack your snow?

Poll closed Apr 2, 2010.
  1. Deposit the snow directly across the road from the client if the driveways are offset

10 vote(s)
    17.9%
  2. Stack the snow at the front of the clients property

13 vote(s)
    23.2%
  3. Stack the snow at the end of the driveway on either side

27 vote(s)
    48.2%
  4. Other

19 vote(s)
    33.9%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. This is directed to contractors servicing residential clients. I am fairly new to the snow business with 2 years experience working for other companies and just started offering snow removal this year for my own clients.

Towards the end of the year I received a letter from the police stating that a complaint had been filed that I had deposited snow on the roadway without permission from the Ministry of Transportation. I was quite surprised by this as I always stack the snow off the road, however I did have 2 neighbors of clients ask me not to stack the snow in front of their house(likely a city easement anyway) so I guess it is not too surprising that people would complain. My clientelle is 90% residential and I normally backdrag the driveway, push the snow to the roadway and then stack. My order of preference for stacking is as follows:
    1. Deposit the snow directly across the road from the client if the driveways are offset
    2. Stack the snow at the front of the clients property (much harder to stack cleanly depending on the width of the roadway)