1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

How do you quote a plowing job?

Discussion in 'Employment' started by mishnick, Feb 10, 2011.

1. mishnick

mishnick 2000 Club Member

Hey guys & snowgirls too... I am a plow mechanic who is just installing a plow on my own truck for the first time, have installed hundreds of all sizes but never operated one. I have an F550 and haven't yet decided what to put on for a plow but I am rigged to run any Western Ultramount. I plan on either a wide-out or pro plow and some sort of sander, probably a Tornado or Ice breaker.

My question is how do you decide what to bid on a parking lot or driveway for example? I understand that most sucessful operators have contracts where they get paid a retainer to be on standby snow or not and then they get more when they actually plow & sand.

Any insight on pricing policies would be appreciated, thanks in advance.
  2. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

3. snocrete

snocrete Banned

Find a good local contractor and sub to them for a few years....you may find you'd rather stick to installing.
  4. grandview

open your own shop. You'll make more money fixing other guys plows after they broke them.

JUNKYARD Junior Member

Guys and girls
    this will be my first year in the snow plowing business , but now after reading the replys i am getting leary about getting into the plowing business show i rethink my plans
  6. MatthewG

MatthewG PlowSite.com Addict

I wouldnt do it, chances are you will problably start smoking heavily from the stress and die at a young age.
  7. 04WhiteSport

04WhiteSport Senior Member