1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

How do you purchase the salt

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by lmarine, Sep 24, 2006.

1. lmarine

lmarine Member

Hello I'm kinda new to the salt and ice control so if this sounds stupid sorry dude I just purchased a Ford F800 dump with a spreader from the county but now getting the salt I mean do you guys buy it in a gravel train and store it yourself or is there place where you can just go and get loaded with the salt every time you need it or do those places get jammed up on ice days and maybe are not open when you need them??? or if i fill the dump up with 5 yards i guess you guys like to go by the ton so lets say 3tons = 5 yards ??? well would it be OK in the dump with just the tarp pulled over it so what way do you most of you do this i even seen the 5 gallon pail trick on pallets but I'm doing a 40 acre complex plow and salt.:) oh I'm in metro Detroit,MI plow site is in Clinton Twp.
    Thanks in advance
  2. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

For your specific area, start by looking in the yellow pages under "salt" for a distributor. However, up here, the port (source for bulk salt) does not advertise at all - you just have to know about it, where it is etc. Being in Detriot, I'd guess there is a port near you. You want a facility to store your own, but be aware of State and Local laws regarding storing salt. There may be restrictions on siting and size.