1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

    Dismiss Notice

How do you install stobes

Discussion in 'Strobe Lighting' started by albhb3, Feb 24, 2008.

  1. albhb3

    albhb3 PlowSite Veteran
    Messages: 3,510

    I was just wondering how do you install whelen hide a way strobes in my 2005 chevy 2500HD crew cab headlights and tails where should they be located? Where does the box go and finally what about a strobe light on the truck. Any help would be great maybe some pics of your own install? Thanks
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2008
  2. LawnProLandscapes

    LawnProLandscapes PlowSite.com Addict
    Messages: 1,129

    pm blueline ent .. he has a really good knowledge of lighting and will be able to help you out.
     
  3. BigDave12768

    BigDave12768 PlowSite.com Addict
    Messages: 1,446

    Dont do it. I notice more people that have strobes never turn them on when plowing. The strobe bounces off the mole board and you are stuck looking at a flashing light.
     
  4. flykelley

    flykelley 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,124

    I have them in my 05 Chevy and use them every storm. Do a search for a thread started by me. It is titled (strobe install in my 05 chevy) If you can't find it send me a email and I will send you pictures. It is pretty straight foward to do, with Wheelens you have to run bot the power feed and ground back to the battery. flykelley930@aol.com

    Regards Mike
     
  5. jay2500hd

    jay2500hd Junior Member
    from mass
    Messages: 10

    i have an 05 GMC 2500hd. i run 4 HAWs in the rear, 2 in the turns and 2 in the brakes. they are powered by a sound off 475. the front has 4 nova grill strobes and 2 HAWs in the running lights(white bulbs), they are powered by a whelen CSP690. I run them for hours and hours never have a problem.

    also have a whelen liberty full size on the roof. all amber with alleys and take downs
     
  6. Philbilly2

    Philbilly2 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,615

    I only run the rears and my roof beacon normally, then when I am backing out into traffic, I will through on the fronts. Otherwise I get annoyed by the light bouncing off the molboard of the plow.

    Here are some picks... install road legal in Illinois: Amber in the front, red in the tail.

    Stock Taillight
    [​IMG]

    With strobe installed
    [​IMG]

    Front Corner Marker
    [​IMG]

    Front corner marker look close you can see it through the lens
    [​IMG]
     
  7. Mark13

    Mark13 PlowSite Fanatic
    Messages: 5,737

    Phil, your pictures no worky.
     
  8. Philbilly2

    Philbilly2 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,615

    bummer, they show up on my screen, let me try again.
     
  9. Philbilly2

    Philbilly2 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,615

    Can you hear me now?

    How about now...can you see them or no?

    002.JPG

    003.JPG

    009.JPG

    010.JPG
     
  10. Earthscapes

    Earthscapes Senior Member
    from WNY
    Messages: 577

    Thanks for the pics Phil. I didn't think a bulb would fit in the amber turn signal in your last pic. Your truck is an 03' correct ? I wonder if I can get a bulb down there in my 06'.

    Right now, i'm using amber bulbs in the high beam's and the reverse lights.
    In the 02' I have clear bulbs in all the amber lenses.

    BTW the flashback is no worse than a roof mounted strobe light flashing back off the hood or plow lights.
     
  11. albhb3

    albhb3 PlowSite Veteran
    Messages: 3,510

    yep thanks
     
  12. Philbilly2

    Philbilly2 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,615

    yep, they will fit in an 06, did one not to long ago.

    and yes, mine is an 03
     
  13. KINNCO

    KINNCO Senior Member
    Messages: 256

    I like what's on the work bench!

    [​IMG]
     
  14. Philbilly2

    Philbilly2 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,615

    good eyes, must have been working on somthing else while working on this! :drinkup:
     
  15. Fiafighterdude

    Fiafighterdude Senior Member
    from ME
    Messages: 740

    lol.......................

    cap_morgan_spiced_gold_big.gif
     
  16. Earthscapes

    Earthscapes Senior Member
    from WNY
    Messages: 577

    Hey Phil,

    How did you drill a 1" hole in that area ? Did you use a holesaw or something else ?
     
  17. Philbilly2

    Philbilly2 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,615

    Hole Saw is my weapon of choice
     
  18. Earthscapes

    Earthscapes Senior Member
    from WNY
    Messages: 577

    LOL mine too, but thats a tight angled area.
     
  19. Philbilly2

    Philbilly2 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,615

    I went to the Ace Hardware and got a really cheap hole saw because the arbor was very short. My hole saw kit the arbor is so long, I would have punched through the other side of the lense.
     
  20. Earthscapes

    Earthscapes Senior Member
    from WNY
    Messages: 577

    Installed the 2 in the signals today. Thanks Phil