1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

how do you evaluate the quality of bulk salt?

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by rv4jesus, Nov 11, 2011.

1. rv4jesus

rv4jesus Member

I am new at this and wondered how you determine the moisture content of bulk salt and what other qualities to look for. I know the scientific way is to dry it in an oven and compare the weight before and after but can you tell by feel how much moisture is in a pile? It seems the salt near the top of the pile would be drier than the salt at the bottom. I understand there is also treated salt, I'm not asking about this.

I assume coarser salt doesn't clump as much. Are there advantages to salt that has a lot of fines in it other than the fact that it is denser? I would think it clumps more but if you are paying for it by the yard it would give you more salt. Should the salt have an anti-caking agent added to it already? Primarily I don't want to end up with a load of salt that freezes solid. Is it so hygroscopic that it will pull enough moisture out of the air to freeze solid inside a covered truck bed if it was dry to begin with?

I have a Snowex 575 spreader that I just got a vibrator for. I would like to use the bulk salt to save money and my supplier is very close and willing to work with me one yard at a time.

I made a wooden salt box that slides into my truck so I can get a yard bucket dumped in without taking the cap off. I like the cap because it keeps everything dry and out of sight and hopefully warm enough so it doesn't form a giant slab. ;-) Thanks for your help.
  2. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic