1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

How do you calculate your price?

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by Plowin in VT, Dec 13, 2007.

1. Plowin in VT

Plowin in VT Senior Member

Driveways are pretty easy, but how does everyone calculate their price on commercial jobs? Sq ft? # of parking spots? # of entrances? Shoveling/no shoveling? I know that it basically boils down to how much time you will be spending getting there, working there, and getting to your next site.

I'm new to commercial jobs, so any input would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Evan

2. Burkartsplow

Burkartsplow PlowSite Veteran

you need to give more info, But if I think something is going to take me 45 mins then i take that number which is .75 and multiple it by how much i want to make an hour which is $125 and it comes out a number of $94.00. But you need to give us more info in regards to the Sq ft and what obstructions there in order to give you a better number.

3. Plowin in VT

I do not have a specific job right now that I'm looking to bid, but was wondering how people come up with the bid amount. $x per sq ft, or 45 min @ $125/hr, etc....

Also, how do you figure out the seasonal rate vs a per push rate?

4. Burkartsplow

i take the per plow rate and multiply it by the number 20 and there you go. But that is for cleveland. i am betting that i will not have to service that client more then 20 times through the season, but i also put in the contract once i hit 20 trips, then I charge them on per push rate at a discounted price. they seem, to like it, i make money and those storms at thd end of the season are usually not to bad.