1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

how do i start?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Diablo, Nov 18, 2005.

1. Diablo

Diablo Junior Member

hi everyone, i am a soldier stationed at fort bragg, nc. my wife and i have decided to move to madison, wi at the end of my service. i have a lot of landscaping experience down south, had my own business before i enlisted, but i know almost nothing about snow plowing and it seems i will need to. i was hoping for some advice on which type of equipment is a good starting place, what to price, and which types of jobs i should try to take on at first. Also, if anyone is from that area, how is the business there?:help: :drinkup:

2. dirt digger

dirt digger Senior Member

well first off thank you! for everything you guys are doing...second off it really depends on how involved you are looking to get. You can start by just snowblowing driveways or you can go full scale multiple truck plowing. Its probably already too late to pick up any "good" jobs this late in the season. but if you develop a strong lawncutting business that is a great way to pick up residential snow plowing. Just start small for one season, get the hang of how fast and efficently you can plow then go bigger the next season.

3. All_Clear

All_Clear Senior Member

As far as a first season goes... You could find someone that will let you run one of their trucks. Good way to get started without much of an investment. Besides lets just say you dont like plowing (hey you never know) You wouldnt have spent big money on a rig. Just a thought.

All_Clear

4. Diablo

Diablo Junior Member

thanks for the help