1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

How do I go about restoring a truck?

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by stis4222, Jan 30, 2003.

1. stis4222

stis4222 Junior Member

I have a 1987 K5 Blazer I really want to restore. My hubby keeps telling me we need to trade it in. :( I would much rather restore it. It's in pretty good condition, but it definately needs some work. I have never done any thing like this before but I love my truck and I don't want to get rid of it. Any help would be wonderful. Stephani :D

2. wyldman

wyldman Member

Welcome to Plowsite.

Probably the best thing to do would be to search around on the internet first,to find some how-to's and possible upgrade paths first.Once you've decided what all you want to do,add it all up and see if it's within your budget.

Personally I'd keep it and fix it up,they were good truck,with a solid front axle and strong drivetrain.Cheap and easy to fix.

Try starting here first

www.chuckschevytruckpages.com

here is another good site

www.coloradok5.com

3. plowking35

plowking35 2000 Club Member
    from SE CT

I think first you have to determine what level of restoration you are looking for. I just completed an 86 K-20 converted to one ton drivetrain, but with the body, I made it look clean white and shiney. I didnt get carried away on making it all perfect, it is a work truck. If you are looking for to make the Blazer show room quality, then alot more detail will have to be put into the truck. Its the details that cost money, all the small trim and detail items cost alot from the dealer, even aftermarket can be pricey.