1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

How do I evaluate an older plow truck

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by seekay, Jan 25, 2011.

1. seekay

seekay Member
    from Maine

Hi all,

I am looking to buy a dedicated plow/yard truck this year, for next winter. My tractor and blower is real nice but with some storms we've had the wind and drifting was too much, I need something I can take out during the storm to keep up, versus doing it all at the end.

Seeing lots of plow trucks for sale on CL, all the time. Would like to spend about $4,000.

What size truck/make do you recommend, and what should I be eyeballing on the vehicle and plow itself when I go take a look? I have no experience at all with plows, and don't want to buy a lemon because I didn't know how to evaluate it.

Thanks for any advice!

2. Chiputz

Chiputz Senior Member