1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

How difficult is it to find subbing work

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Carlito, Jun 24, 2009.

1. Carlito

Carlito Member

Howdy,
    If one has good equipment (new truck/plow/salter) how difficult is it to find subbing work from a large reputable company. Is it normally structured at an hourly rate or is there base salary that converts to hourly rate after a certain number of working hours? This is my first year on my own and was thinking it might be a better idea to sub for someone rather than trying to get my own accounts. Is this a good approach?
    Thank you much,
    Carlito

2. ATV Plow King

ATV Plow King Senior Member

Let me start off by saying welcome to plowsite.
    Now depending on what equip you have will depend on whos gonna hire you. The way they do it around here is by the hr but where your at could be diff. You just need to ask around and im sure there's someone who could use you.

Starting off as asub is the best way to do things b/c you get to learn the ropes and how the bizz work. Then once you know what your doing go off on your own and start making the big payup payup payup

-Bill

3. TCLA

TCLA 2000 Club Member

With your outlook it won't be difficult at all to get work from a larger company. Just approach them, start the conversation and ask questions. If they are interested in you the pertinent details will come out.