1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

How can I find customers?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by te snow, Apr 11, 2009.

1. te snow

te snow Member

:help:First of all Thank You in advace for your input. I have been subcontracting for four years and want to start my own plow business. I would like to do mostly commercial lots but I'll take whayever comes my way. My question to you is how do I go about getting contracts? Do I survey the property with a detailed explanation of what I am bidding on then walk in to the company and ask for the manager/owner, or ask an employee to give the contract to them if they are not available. I have not gone through the whole del of getting the company started and have not yet thought of advertisment. I'm aware that if my name is out there more i will get more in return. Again any input is much appreciated and if anything comes to mind off the subject of contracts that has to do with plowing of coarse I am encouraging you to say whatever it is. There is never one opinion.

2. mikefras

mikefras Member

Get a business plan, look professional, get all your logistics in place ie insurance, contracts, etc. Start small and get established. A great way to make a small fortune in the snow removal business is to start with a large one
  3. te snow

te snow Member

Very straight forward and very appreciated. Thank You for the reply. I have looked into items such as insurace, salt, EIN number through the state and am very positive about what will become of the outcome.
  4. hydro_37

hydro_37 PlowSite Veteran
    from iowa

Just go in and talk to the manager of any business you would like to bidon. The earlier the better.
  5. te snow