1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

How are ATVs in heavy snow?

Discussion in 'ATV / UTV Snow Removal' started by RLLServices, Aug 26, 2008.

1. RLLServices

RLLServices Junior Member
    from CT

I need an ATV to add to my snow fleet and I have no experience with them at all in the snow. How is their power in 12'' or more snow? Wet snow? Would 500cc be sufficient? or should I seach for more like 700cc? I was also think of maybe getting a UTV so I could fit a snow blower in the bed of it......They usally have around 700-1000cc or so. What do you guys think? I mean is it really hard to get in driveways in difficult conditions? Not so worried about getting stuck if I have a winch.....but I still need to get the job done! Thanks!

2. Plowin in VT

Plowin in VT Senior Member

I know that I'll probably get blasted for saying this, but my personal experience w/ATVs in deep heavy snow is that they suck. I have a Kawasaki Brute Force 650 which works great in a couple of inches, but when there was a lot of heavy wet snow on the ground , it was not able to push it very far at all. If you raise the blade to try and get a 1st pass, you will wind up packing snow down with your undercarriage and you'll get hung up and stuck.

As long as you plow with the storm and don't let it get ahead of you, you'll be fine w/the atv. If you already have a lot on the ground, you'd be better off w/a snow blower.

3. bowhunter74

bowhunter74 Member
    from MO.