1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

hourly rate question.

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by badgerman, Nov 29, 2012.

1. badgerman

badgerman Member

I do drives mostly but i got a guy who has asked me to do 2 good size commercial lots with 1inch triggers they are his accounts and he wants to just pay me hourly and him pay for fuel which i have never done before and im not apposed to it but wondering if any one else had done any thing like this if so what is the rate for something like this? Thanks for the help

2. OC&D

OC&D PlowSite Veteran
    from Earth

Usually if you're subbing you'd pay for your own fuel, but if he is willing to, I wouldn't argue!

Rates for a pickup with a plow vary given the market as well as the specific truck/plow you have. Guys with a 7.5' straight blade may not get the same rate as a guy with an expandable scoop plow or a v-plow. I've seen rates as low as $45/hour Like I said it can vary greatly. The average is likely around $60/hour.

3. badgerman

badgerman Member

yea thats what i was told subs around here get usually 60 so if hes paying the fuel he offered 20 an hour to just me was just trying to figure out if i should ask for more or if this is worth the wear and tear on my truck and i got a superduty with 7.6 foot western straight blade.. Thanks for your reply i love this site its awesome, loaded with info i just joined

4. dieselss

dieselss PlowSite Fanatic

Sounds like a good deal. Fuel included,,,,sweet. Yep hourly rates vary like the wind. Round the Chicago are. 50-90 hr but without fuel paid. So if it was me I might be a little flexable

5. ducaticorse

ducaticorse PlowSite.com Addict
    from we