1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Hourly rate/1099 debate

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by Ozone, Jan 22, 2004.

1. Ozone

Ozone Member

While this is my first year subbing out...I had quite an experience with plenty of guys who wanted to hire me. There first guy...wanted to pay me $45.00 hr with a 1099 at the end of the year. His partner and I had a deal made out for $50.00 hr with no 1099 at the end of the year. To make a long story short...they both couldnt get there stories straight and the 1 partners nose was alittle out of joint cause of the cash offer. Then the partner who made the deal with me renigged on it. Then they both stated to me...nobdy pays subs over $50 an hr period...blah blah blah.
    Well, thankfully for me...I have 2 different friends who own there own Landscaping business...Plus I know atleast 10 other guys who are either landscapers or plowed for many many years.
    I asked them what the going rate was for subs in our area. I got anywhere from...$50.00 an hr - $90 an hr.
    Now some said..."it depends on what blade you have" etc.
    Id say the majority said...NO 1099 for there subs....what does the rest of the board do?
    My dads buddy was using me for $70.00 an hr(cash) until he played a few games with me. I think Im gonna ride out the rest of the winter puddleing around doing my own thing until next year. next year..i wanna get a few small commercial lots( 2 of them) and be done with it. Im not trying to make a living off snowlowing..just a few extra bucks to spend. What are your thoughts?

2. stackitslamit

stackitslamit Junior Member