1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Homesteader Problem

Discussion in 'Fisher Engineering Discussion' started by Alan323, Nov 5, 2009.

1. Alan323

Alan323 Junior Member

Hello everyone. First I'd like to say what a great site this is. Thanks to the host and sponsors for running this forum.

Next a little background. I'm an owner of a 2001 Chevy S10 Sonoma with a Homesteader rig. I've run it for the past 3 seasons and it has worked great. I can't say enough about the performance of "My Lil Plow". This is my first plow (It actually came with the truck when I bought it). So, I'm not very experienced when dealing with the problems that come with ownership.

I do have one nagging problem with it though. If I leave the electrical plugs attached for more than 1-2 days the plow draws down my battery so low that I have to jump it to get my truck started. Usually I just unplugi the connections at the end of the day and plug them back in, in the morning. It's a little inconvenient but it works fine.

I suspect it is my isolation module that is the culprit. I'm just not sure. What I'd like to know is if anyone has had a similar experience, and what they did about it.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.
  2. B&B

B&B PlowSite Fanatic

Sounds like your red power wire coming out of the plow control harness under the dash is connected to a constant hot in the fuse panel, which will keep the system powered all the time. Which isn't correct and will drain the battery as you've found. You need to move it to a location that only has power when the ignition is in the run position and your issue should be resolved.
  3. Alan323

Alan323 Junior Member