1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

homesteader and back blading

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by frontierboy, Dec 16, 2007.

1. frontierboy

frontierboy Junior Member
    from ct

Hey everyone,
    Im new to plowing and i got a 7'4" homesteader plow on my nissan frontier. Now Is it normal for the plow to ride up like an inch when back blading or do in need to adjust the scrape lock?? Also there is about and inch or so of up and down play with frame and the mount, is that normal ? the plow is a few years old and bought second hand.. Any advice would be appreciated !!!

2. MikeD

MikeD Junior Member

frontierboy - backdragging

Hey, I am new to plowing as well however it is my understanding that what your describing is a plow weight / down pressure issue. Light duty plows give up weight for the ability to be used on lighter duty trucks. Sorry I can't tell you how to resolve it. Some plow manufacturers have down pressure kits ! good luck

3. frontierboy

from ct

Thanks mike, I know that the plow has something called scape lock. When the plow is dropped, and if i lift up on the plow frame, removing all the slack, the hydrolics lock down the blade. That helps, but its a pain in the a@# getting out of the truck everytime..

4. MrBigStuff

MrBigStuff Senior Member
    from Boston

Is the plow solid to the left or right when you push against it? The way these plows sit on the truck, it can be hard to purge all of the air from the rams. I had to hang mine over a drop off to get the lines at the highest point and then raise/lower it a few times to get all the air out. Might not be your problem but worth a shot.

5. frontierboy

from ct