1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

hi,New to plowing, appreciate help.

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Journier, Aug 23, 2005.

1. Journier

Journier Junior Member

hi, Im just starting out, first time plowing, never worked for nobody.

Question#1-when should I start advertising? right now and keep it up through winter?

Question#2- Im planning on doing all residential most with 2 car wide drives that are 30-60 feet long how much can I charge? Ive read alot of your posts about a (Per push and per Inch) pricing and im not sure if I get it, is that better for business removal?

Question#3 Is a V plow better to use in Residential than a regular plow? would i be better off just using a regular plow, or does a 7ft Boss pro V plow increase your productivity or some sort?

Question#4 Should I invest into a Nicer truck my first year? or go with an older 80's, Ive been looking at a dodge ram 5 speed 4x4 LONG bed, extended cab, is this truck too long for residential use? should i look for a short bed?
    Im trying to shy away from auto's since i hear the trans's dont like the work plowing gives.

Question #5 what would i charge for residential salting/sanding. average wide sidewalk, I have no real basis on what i should charge so, i would really like any ideas you can give me.

Last edited: Aug 23, 2005
  2. Journier

Journier Junior Member

Answered a few questions by reading tthe forums from (the beginning)

answered question #1, #3, #5 for myself :/

still appreciate any information you can give

dont know how to edit my above post... tthe edit button is gone?
  3. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine