1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

HELP WITH PRICING Skyline

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by jj0807, Jun 18, 2009.

1. jj0807

jj0807 Junior Member

I'm new to the snow buisness but i went into skyline and the owner asked if I would plow the lot for him in the winter. I said sure, and i would get back to him with the number in acouple days. What are some suggestions on How much i should charge:

Per push/Per hour=$

Per inch=$

Per Season=$

Salt included=$

For everyone who hs seen a skyline lot its not small but not big either. I just need some good advice, i could use this extra money for college.

2. cretebaby

cretebaby PlowSite Veteran

Per season salt included is the way to go IMO

Skyline?

Like the double wide builder?

3. Bossman 92

Bossman 92 PlowSite.com Addict

I think he means Skyline Chile it's an Ohio thing.

What works for me is to charge per push. I would guess somthing in the neighborhood of $50 to $75 per push. Salt is extra and should be applied at a rate of 600 to 750 lbs per/acre, depending on conditions. You need to know your cost on salt, close to $4.25 per 50# around here.

The way I work it is, during a day storm the lot is cleared after every 2", then salted once the storm is over and the lot has been plowed.

If you don't already have the equipment it you are going to need more than 1 account to justify this venture. Plows, salters, and insurance all cost money and 1 account wouldn't be worth it. Also seeing that you are a newby you are going to need insurance.

Good luck, Bossman

4. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine