1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Help with plow for my 04 Ford F-150!!

Discussion in 'Ford Trucks' started by A31unit, Sep 26, 2011.

1. A31unit

A31unit Junior Member

I have a 2004 Ford F-150 and am considering buying a plow. I am new to the snow plowing thing and this will be my first plow.
    The first thing I have to do is to have the 3900 FGAWR springs installed according to the dealer. The springs currently on the truck are the 3750 FGAWR which are apparently too weak to handle any plows in the half ton class or larger.

The next thing is to select a plow. I have it narrowed down to 3. These three are readily available at a dealer close to me so repair/maintenance is part of my decision.

1) Western HTS

2)Fisher HT

3)Fisher SD

My dealer seems to want to push the Western but will sell me the Fisher just the same. A friend of mine with some good expierience had plowed with Western for years but since he recently bought a Fisher. He believes the Fisher is the best.

Up to this point I have considered the Half Ton plows because I have a half ton pickup. Fisher's site indicates that the SD plow will work on my truck once I install the 3900 lb springs.

I feel that the SD plow will be a better purchase because if I sell the truck and possibly move up to a 3/4 ton in the future the SD plow will still work for me, the HT will not. On the other hand I don't wanna kill my truck with too heavy a plow.
    Fisher's website says the SD will work and recommend 800+ lbs of ballast in the back with the SD plow.
    My region only gets a few snows a year with several large storms mixed in from time to time.