1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

    Dismiss Notice

Help with MM Plow !

Discussion in 'Fisher Engineering Discussion' started by Bowtieguy, Nov 28, 2009.

  1. Bowtieguy

    Bowtieguy Member
    from CT
    Messages: 57

    Ok, I just pruchesed a 2000 chevy 2500. It's all set up for a MM plow. I purchased a MM1(its a 2 wire) from the same guy. (dealer) He told me the plow will hook right up. However today i am gettig it all hooked up and the plug to the plow lights and hydros will not match up with the plug on the truck! The plug on the plow is # 8246. It looks like the pins are off just a tad. Also the fishstick doesnt light up when try to turn it on. I don't know if the plow has to be all connected first or what? I am new to the MMs as i always had a old speedcast. Is there an adapter? Any help is appreciated!!
    Thx
     
  2. Bowtieguy

    Bowtieguy Member
    from CT
    Messages: 57

    Update... i am still messing with this but i think the truck is wired for a 3 wire. I have battery plug in grill, i have a 9 pin connector in grill, and what i thought was just a cover is a 3 pin male connector coming from grill. If my truck is wired for a 3 wire plow can i make it work with a 2 wire plow??
     
  3. EaTmYtAiLpIpEs

    EaTmYtAiLpIpEs 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,607

    sounds like it is wired for a 3 wire. to make it work if I cam correct I am sure someone can back me up on here you have to change everything under the hood. I will go snap some pics of the truck side on my truck for ya. Mine is a 3 plug.
     
  4. EaTmYtAiLpIpEs

    EaTmYtAiLpIpEs 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,607

    here's truck side
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  5. EaTmYtAiLpIpEs

    EaTmYtAiLpIpEs 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,607

  6. 2COR517

    2COR517 PlowSite Fanatic
    Messages: 7,115

    Just switch the plow over to three wire. It will take much less time, and be cheaper.
     
  7. john95chevy

    john95chevy Junior Member
    Messages: 22

    it is cheaper to change the plow and then you can upgrade to new lights
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2009
  8. Bowtieguy

    Bowtieguy Member
    from CT
    Messages: 57

    Thanks for the pics eatmytailpipes! I appreciate it. I have that same set up on my truck. The 9 pin was on the plow. I did some searching and it looks like i need to change the light harness to a 12 pin and add the 3 pin control harness to the plow. The truck will stay the same(whew). I don't know the costs yet but i'm gonna do some looking tonight. Anyone have extra harnesses laying around? :c)
     
  9. 2COR517

    2COR517 PlowSite Fanatic
    Messages: 7,115

    Actually, I have one of them. I'll see if I can put my hands on it in the morning.
     
  10. RepoMan207

    RepoMan207 PlowSite Fanatic
    from Maine
    Messages: 5,037

  11. Bowtieguy

    Bowtieguy Member
    from CT
    Messages: 57

    Thanks 2COR! Please LMK if you have either. Repoman...those are the same part #s i had. At least i know i'm on the right track. Thanks!!