1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Help with Ford Ranger Edge front end.

Discussion in 'Ford Trucks' started by Pearcelawn, Jan 4, 2007.

1. Pearcelawn

Pearcelawn Senior Member

I need some help with a Ford Ranger Edge with the 4.0 6 cyl.

First I will tell you,I am not a truck mechanic.I have done the obligatory alternator,plugs, battery,brake pads and rotors, etc. I have been in the lawn business for ten years and can turn a wrench fine. I have to see if I can get this solved w/out going to a mechanic and paying the $1000 I was quoted for the job. Due to a parent I am caring for having a major medical problem recently,funds are very low. Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

The problem:

I recently had the lower ball joints replace and had new tires put on. I have a Sno Way plow for it and I do some residentials and two SMALL( about 5 parking spots each) commercials with it. Now I find that the upper ball joint on the drivers side may be rattling a bit. I do not have the money to replace it right now. No snow has meant no pay.

Question:

Can I jack the truck up and tighten it down somehow to make it last a little bit longer?

If so, do I just tighten the to nuts on top and how far can I go without throwing off the alignment?

I have gotten some great info from this site from a great bunch of guys, I hope you can enlighten me on this and maybe I will be able to return the favor someday.

Happy New Year!!

2. b2driver

b2driver Member
    from MD

3. Pearcelawn

Pearcelawn Senior Member

Thanks much!

4. Kosty

Kosty Member