1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

help with buying a 3/4 4x4 ton chevy

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by bdemir, Jan 27, 2001.

1. bdemir

bdemir Member

Hello,

I am looking at an 88 chevy 4x4 with western plow. The guy wants 4500. Which seems like a good price.
    I am new to chevys but i like them and have an 88 silverado that the tranny went on. It also had other little problems but like these trucks alot. Is this a bad year for 4wheel drive and what should i look for in a used truck. A particular year maybe. Hes asking a low price for the truck so i am expecting to be something wrong with it.There is rust around the wheel wells and he says no rust on the frame. He says he has plowed a little with the truck and hes in Buffalo NY and im in Michigan. Everything is over the phone so i am hesitant about going to get it. WHat should i do i really want the truck.

BEdros

[Edited by bdemir on 01-27-2001 at 09:25 AM]

2. 3/4tonTodd

3/4tonTodd Member

bdemir

In my opinion, you should be able to find a 4x4 with a plow a lot closer to your house than NY. Check out the internet - there are at least half a dozen sites that will let you search by state. Also you can check out a couple different auto parts stores. Many of them will have bulletin boards with vehicles for sale, plus they usually sell or give away some kind of publication that just lists used vehicles for sale.

Good luck with your hunt for your truck!

Todd

3. bdemir

bdemir Member

Todd,

Thanks for the replt.

I have checked a few sites but not all of them this ad is out of auto trader but thanks for the help. There are more plow trucks in adds this week conpared to last couple of weeks.

BEdros

4. John DiMartino