1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Help with bid

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by tacovic, Oct 1, 2012.

1. tacovic

tacovic Member

https://www.google.com/mapmaker?q=h...19&t=h&lyt=large_map&htll=44.95077,-92.925532

I am able to plow the high pointe medical lot as well as the dentist office that is connected. I will have 1 truck with a boss V and 1 shoveler/salter. It will take me quite a bit of time to do this but these will be my only accounts.

I am brand new to plowing but do lawn mowing and landscaping in the summer. I am a very quick learner and have no doubt I can figure it out quickly. I am lucky enough to have a family member who owns a multi million dollar snow operation. He is giving me this property to take care of as well as giving me a great deal on a new plow and lighting.

Ive got 2 options. Either work for 65/hr for plow and 30/hr for walks, or a flat rate depending on the amount of the snow. He estimated the flat rate based on 5 hrs of plowing and 5 1/2 hrs shoveling/salting.

Is this a fair price for these properties? Should I opt for the hourly rate or the flat rate? Any advice is greatly appreciated.

2. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

5 hrs to plow? I think he might be under the cow and milking it.

3. tacovic

tacovic Member

Well id rather have him over estimate than underestimate the time it takes.

4. South Seneca

South Seneca Senior Member

If his business is that big, I'd go with what he has been doing with that account.

The remaining question is how long did it take him, and what are you paying the shovel man. If it takes 5 1/2 hours to shovel, it's time to buy a commercial grade blower.

5. tacovic

tacovic Member