1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

HELP with a uni-mount joy stick controller

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by stan3ley, Jan 21, 2015.

1. stan3ley

stan3ley Junior Member
    from Mi.

Hi Guys,
    I am a newbie and am having some problems.
    I purchased a used Western Uni-Mount plow last spring, no mount or wiring.
    I found a guy who would install a mount and do the wiring, in truck for me.
    When I hooked up the plow, the joy stick controller had the old style 6 pin plug. I found the new 6 pin connector and rewired it. The plow didn't raise and magic smoke came from the controller. The motor was completely rusted, and there was water in the fluid. Had the motor rebuilt and I emptied the pump and cylinders of fluid. I removed the solenoids and checked the valves for function and cleaned them. All seems well in the pump. I reassembled the pump with a new screen and new oil.
    The circuit board got toasted between the on - off switch and s-5, the area between the resistor and the switch. I went and got some paint on circuit board repair. I It seems to work when I had hooked it all back up. I preformed the controller function test and the controller worked as shown. I then plugged it into the in cab plug, the blade raised, it went to the right, when I tried left it started to smoke. Disassembled the controller, paint was still on. I can turn the switch on and no smoke, it seems to heat up when it goes into the down position. I unplugged the wiring at the plow and the solenoid will click when I use the controller.