1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Help teach about salting

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by JMHConstruction, Mar 9, 2013.

1. JMHConstruction

JMHConstruction Senior Member

I apologize in advance, I'm sure there are threads on this site about this topic already. I have no idea what to search for, and what I have searched, I can't seem to find what I'm looking for.

With only a few years under my belt running my sidewalk crew I can move some snow like crazy. I work as a sub for a larger landscaping company who provides the melt, so I'm sorry I do not remember what type of ice melt is used. In the past I thought more of ice melt as something to put down to melt the left over snow, any more snow falling, and obviously ice. I didn't realize the complexity of putting it down. In the past I have just opened my spreader and walked at a decent pace, then went on to the next job. As I learn the business I have realized that weather, temp, day/night, and other factors determine the ice melt amounts and what types of ice melt to use. I was wondering if anyone knows a website, video, thread, etc. of a teaching tool about how much salt to put down and when?
  2. White Gardens

White Gardens 2000 Club Member

Go liquid and never look at anything else again.

But, you'll still need to use occasional rock salt for the high moisture snow and freezing rain conditions.

Here is three Google search terms.

Road Salt or Rock Salt
    Liquid De-icers
    Calcium Chloride

Last edited: Mar 10, 2013
  3. ducaticorse

ducaticorse PlowSite.com Addict
    from we