1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

    Dismiss Notice

HELP- Star Hide A Way install..... need troubleshooting help...

Discussion in 'Strobe Lighting' started by mkwl, Jan 4, 2012.

  1. mkwl

    mkwl 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,361

    Hey guys-

    I just finished installing a new Star/SVP 90W 6 head strobe hide a way kit in an '06 GMC Sierra truck. Now- the system worked great- until I tried to change the pattern- as per the instructions, by touching the "white enable wire" to a 12V source (I used the incoming 12V in the power plug), holding it there for 2 seconds, and then releasing- to change the flash pattern. So I did this with the system on, and poof- lights went out. Now- I turn on the switch- unit powers up for about 1 second- I get about 2 flashes out of the strobes, and then no more flashes (switch still on)- out of the "star shaped" LED on the power unit (diagnostics)- I get one flash, pause, two consecutive flashes, pause, three consecutative flashes, then nothing.

    Now- I called Star, strobes n' more to try and diagnose it- because I can replicate the situation above (2 flashes then star flashing)- but they didn't seem to be able to diagnose over the phone given the info above. Star's tech seemed to think it was a faulty module- but I'm not sure of that because id didn't just up and die.

    Thoughts? I'm sure the thing is trying to "tell" me what's wrong- but I'm not sure what it's trying to "say"..... anyone have any thoughts? I'm certain it's tied somehow to the unit's pattern changing feature somehow- since it was working fine before I tried to change the pattern.....

    Is there some way to restore its "brain" to factory settings?

    Thanks,
    Matt
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2012
  2. fordtruck661

    fordtruck661 Senior Member
    from CT
    Messages: 404

    If they cant tell you what is wrong with it then I would just send it back to them and have it replaced with a new one.
     
  3. BossPlow2010

    BossPlow2010 PlowSite.com Addict
    Messages: 1,032

    You're suppose to have a glass fuse in there, along with a switch. Did you check the fuse on the power supply.
     
  4. fordtruck661

    fordtruck661 Senior Member
    from CT
    Messages: 404

    If the fuse was no good the pack would not have any power at all. But cant hurt to check
     
  5. nepatsfan

    nepatsfan Senior Member
    Messages: 727

    Did you talk to Louis at strobes n more? He knows his stuff. I would try to talk to him directly
     
  6. mkwl

    mkwl 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,361

    Checked all fuses, ground, voltage- everything checks out. Called louis- to no avail.....
     
  7. BossPlow2010

    BossPlow2010 PlowSite.com Addict
    Messages: 1,032

    I know ts a brand new unit but things happen, start unplugging tubes and see if you have a bad light.
     
  8. mkwl

    mkwl 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,361

    Turned out to be a faulty unit- brand new out of the box :(